Posted by: Mark, Transforming . . . | November 23, 2011

Peppernuts – Cookies so good they should be shared!

 This is the first Thanksgiving I can remember when my Mom didn’t make peppernuts for all of us.  I made a batch last week with the help of Pilar, Eva and Max.  What fun!!!  Thank You you 3 for taking my kitchen to new standards of cookie dough on the floor and flour floating through the air.  Another mantra in life “The bigger the mess in the kitchen, the better the food tastes!”  I have a big smile on my face and I’m sure my Mom does too.  Mom saw them when I walked in the ICU last week yet I don’t think she got to taste one.  She did guide me through my first batch last Easter and I’m grateful for the help of family making that batch.

May you and your family enjoy these as much as our family has for many, many years!  Call if you want any other pointers making these holiday gems.

And comment about your favorite family recipe and share the recipe with us.

 

Peppernuts (Hofmeister Recipe)

2 ½ Cups shortening or butter
1 ½ Cups of White Sugar
4 Eggs
4 Cups Dark Karo Syrup
3 t Cardamom seed ground
2 t Ground Cloves
4 t Cinnamon
2 t Allspice Ground
2 t Ginger
1 ½t Anise Seed Ground
2 t Baking Powder
1 t Vanilla
½ t Salt
10 Cups of Flour

Mix in order and let stand a day in fridge before baking. Roll like marbles, place on greased cookie sheet and bake in hot oven 375 for 8 to 10 minutes.

Mom rolls into log and cuts off pieces before rolling into marbles. Aunt Helen rolled into log and then just cut into pieces without rolling into marbles. This makes it quicker to fill the pan.

Using flour on the tray keeps it from sticking to tray and hands.

From Pauline “Huff” Buhrke

Leave a Reply

Categories

