Posted by: Mark, Transforming . . . | June 19, 2015

Just how much did that “Free” bottle of water actually cost me on the Atlanta Beltline in August 2014? #WhyITribe Number 1

This is the beginning of a series of posts. I have no way of knowing how many posts it will become because this idea has been stirring in my mind for months.

I have tears of gratitude streaming down my face today (5:45am). I’m finally at Skate Farm in Floyd, VA preparing for 5 days of inline skating the mountains here. I’m excited and apprehensive, all at the same time. OK. 65% apprehension and 35% excitement. As I drove the last 10 miles yesterday, and experienced the hills in the car, I began to wonder “Just what have I gotten myself into?”  “Am I actually going to allow myself to skate DOWN these hills?  I can force myself up them, but how am I ever going to skate down them AND stay vertical???”

Then I was greeted by Dennis and then met the infamous Eddy Matzger. My Atlanta Peachtree Road Roller friends are right. I’ll love Eddy and my time with him.  I know that I’m in the right place on June 19, 2015.  I feel at home here, welcomed by a family, another “Tribe”, that I’ve just met.  I’ll write another post on that later.

For now, here’s more about the title and the background . . .

The last couple of years I would skate the Alpharetta Greenway, Piedmont Park and the Atlanta Beltline for a couple of hours without even drinking water. I was even called a name in Piedmont Park and I’ll gladly wear it: “The Dancing Roller Blader!” Well, last August I had been out for probably 2 hours, (without water. I know, how stupid.) when I saw this man standing with bottled water by the ramp to the Beltline Kroger. OK Angels. I get it. I get it. I’ll stop, turn around and buy some water.

As I approached, I started pulling out cash to buy water only to be told “Oh no. This is free. Just . . . come check out our gym, Iron Tribe Fitness.” Ha ha ha ha ha 9 or 10 months later, just how much did that “Free” bottle of water actually cost me Ben Davis?

Well, it cost me giving up my limitations in life and me living small and giving into small expectations of myself and giving up more and more minute aspects of my addiction to victimhood.  And it’s opened a new world Beyond Imaginably Magical!

Sure, it’s a gym membership that is costing me more than I’ve ever paid for a monthly membership before. Sure, it’s cost me buying inline speed skates that cost me double what my last pair cost, not to mention all the gear and clothing and accessories and wheels and bearings and socks and on and on and on that go with it. Sure, it’s cost me airfare and travel expenses and registration fees for inline marathons and Skate Farm “skate school”.

Yet, that free bottle of water is just one more piece of the puzzle of me living life fully and fully enjoying Every Moment of my life. I know there will be some “Oh No” moments these next 5 days as I fly down these hills at speeds I’ve never skated before. I also Know that there will be more highs and levels of living life fully, Enjoying Bliss, than I’ve ever allowed myself to experience before.  That free bottle of water has reminded me to Live, Experience AND Enjoy every moment, every experience of my life.

I have tears of gratitude streaming down my face, yet again, as I think about all of the people in my life who have opened up a space in my life that has allowed me to get here today. I am SO Grateful for them and each piece of themselves that they have shared with me, no matter how small it may have been. A Smile. A Kick in the butt, to keep me moving towards my goals. A word of encouragement. A business opportunity. An ear (and all of you know how much I can talk.)  A personal story of them sharing their innermost secrets that has inspired me in some way.  The list goes on.

This is the start, the beginning, of a series of my experiences with listening to that small, still voice inside.  You may call it your gut, your inner knowing, your angels, guides, Spirit, Higher Self, God, Allah, Buddha, LMNOP.  I don’t care what you call it.  Just take a breath or two . . . and listen.  You have all of Your Own answers inside of you, waiting to be revealed, on how to live your life Beyond Imaginably Magical.  That’s my current answer when people ask me how I’m doing.

So for today, take a moment and listen.  The more I exercise this muscle, the quicker it responds.  Take that breath or two.  Listen.  It could be words, or colors, or feelings or sensations or that “nudge” to get a free bottle of water or the “nudge” to click on a link or turn down a street you’ve never taken before.  You already know how “It” speaks to you and guides you through life.  Then, cast away any concern about what others think about you and follow that Inner Knowing, Your Inner Knowing . . . and Allow Life to Love you back as you experience your own life Beyond Imaginably Magical.

And Please share your experiences in the comments.  I want to hear them.

Feel Peace and Be Transformed . . .

Responses

  1. Thanks Mark! Very inspirational & authentic! HOPE ALL THE SKATING went really FUUUUUNNNNN!!!! HUGS – Vera

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

