Posted by: Mark, Transforming . . . | July 18, 2016

Meeting my first Trans Man

Who would have thought? I’ve shared recently on my Facebook posts how I’ve enjoyed getting to know my transgender women friends. Hearing their stories and sharing each others’ “coming out” experiences has truly been another way to increase my level of compassion in the world. You never really do know the journey someone else has taken.

I told several people that I really want to meet a transgender man, ie. a woman who has become a man. I’m grateful for Sharon, Christine and Gabrielle and them opening their hearts and their stories with me. They’ve been awesome sharing their journey of man to woman transitions with me. They’ve even shared how I probably know some transgender men because it’s not as obvious when a woman becomes a man, because of the way the hormones work in the body.

Well, tonight is the night to watch one of my coaches from the gym perform in America Ninja Warrior! So a group of us went to a great restaurant near the gym. It’s always great to see friends who workout at different times so these events bring together the “morning people” with the “afternoon/evening people”.

As I’m chatting with two guys that I’ve known for over a year, I somehow bring up the story of my meeting my transgender women friends and that I’m still waiting to meet my first transgender man. To my surprise, one of them extends his hand and says “you don’t have to look far. What questions do you have?”

What? What? Are you telling me what I think you’re telling me? You’re a power lifter? I never would have guessed.

I kind of let it go and we continued our conversation. He said he could point me in the direction of some organizations where I could meet many transgender men and that one of them meets every October here in Atlanta. I’ve always thought of him as a very supportive guy in the LGBTQ community so I didn’t think too much more about it.

Well, I finally looked at him and said, “Am I hearing you clearly when you extended your hand to me a little bit ago? Or am I reading something into our conversation that isn’t there?”

Nope. He’s a transgender man. I am very grateful for this interaction and this opening of a whole new world to me.

I’m ready to learn more so that I can share more. I seem to operate in the LGBTQ world and also in the non-LGBTQ world. Sometimes I’ve been able to bridge the gaps between the two. I’m grateful for this. And I’m looking forward to sharing even more . . .

Feel Peace, and Be Transformed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

