Posted by: Mark, Transforming . . . | August 28, 2016

When you’re going through hell, just keep moving!!!

Three to five years ago I was going through a personal hell. I’ll share those details in another post. Today, I’m sharing a Big Win!!! For the past 6 to 8 months, I’ve been trudging through a mental fog that has kept me distracted from what matters and what is important in my life. Yesterday I received the benefits of moving through, feeling, and Clearing those limitations from the past 8 months.  Because I kept moving, day to day, moment to moment, and continuing my spiritual practices, last weekend a great sense of peace, focus, and clarity came over me after one of the processes in the Oneness Awakening Course that I was facilitating.  This entire week I’ve had more focus, clarity and ambition than I’ve had in a very long time.

Yesterday was a day with No Reaction to an event that could have caused a huge reaction for me. NO Reaction! Yup.  NO Reaction.

My first day to raft down the Chattahoochee River for a few hours with friends. Let’s “Shoot the Hooch”. I’ve wanted to do this for the 14 years I’ve lived in Atlanta so when friends invited me, I quickly said “Yes!” I trusted the bubble of white light I put around my car to keep my wallet, money clip and phone safely inside the hiding places within my trunk. Keys are in a ziploc bag to keep them dry so I’m good!!! Let’s float!

I gave my keys to a friend who dropped them in his cooler. We’re all good!!! Or so I thought. At the take out ramp, I hear his group coming out of the river and all I heard was “that brown little lunch cooler? I saw it floating away right where we all jumped in the river. Didn’t someone grab it?”

I had NO Reaction. None. For those of you who know me, this is a HUGE deal. I didn’t once start asking “Why?” or “Who’s to blame?” or “Why didn’t you have it tied to the raft?” or “How much time and money is this going to cost me?” or any of that? As my friend went into sentences beginning with “Why? Why? Why?” similar to “Why would someone let a cooler float away if they knew it was someone’s cooler and they saw it?” I kept repeating to him, and myself,

“It is what it is. And it isn’t what it isn’t.”

“It is what it is. And it isn’t what it isn’t”

And then I started looking at what my options were.  Uber home.  I have a house key in a lock box by my front door.  The extra key fob is on the piano.  I’m good.  Somebody at the parking lot where my car is parked will help me get an Uber or Lyft ride home.  I’m good.  I don’t know any telephone numbers for friends because they’re all in my phone which is locked in my trunk and I don’t have numbers memorized anymore.  I’m taken care of. I’m still taken care of.

Without having to consciously think about it, I stayed in the present moment.

I admit I was a little annoyed during the hour of my friend saying “Why? Why? Why?” so I just kept telling him . . .

It is what it is. And it isn’t what it isn’t!

It is what it is. And it isn’t what it isn’t!

Back at the parking lot, I tried the drivers side door to see if I might have left my car unlocked.  Nope!  So getting the phone from the trunk is not an option.  I joked with a group of 6 or 8 people getting ready to launch their rafts in the river that if they saw a small brown lunch box size cooler on the left side of the river just before the take out ramp to please bring it in.  The response? “Let me call you an Uber?”  Even though it delayed their start time, and I apologized for delaying them, another guy in the group looked at me and said, “It’s ok. I’d want someone to do it for me if I was in your situation.”

Key wasn’t on the piano.  I new it was on the altar, where I placed it earlier in the week to express my gratitude for how much I enjoy my car.

Back in Uber still making light of the situation, repeating . . .

It is what it is. And it isn’t what it isn’t!

If you’re going through a mental fog, or some other experience you’d prefer not to experience and call it your own “hell”, just keep breathing and moving through it.  Continue on your spiritual path, whatever that path may be in this moment. There is light at the end of the tunnel!  As I’m typing this, my friend is literally hiking the edge of the river because we both know the cooler is appearing and coming back to us.

It is what it is. And it isn’t what it isn’t.

 

Here’s an update around 9:30am- Yesterday, every time my friend’s raft came close to mine, he would loudly yell, “Hey Mark Buhrke.  Remember I have your nuts over here.” Pun intended. Today, he just texted me a picture of a Titleist 1 golf ball and informed me that he was laughing out loud by himself in the woods. Yesterday he had my nuts, and lost them with the cooler.  Today he’s at bringing my balls back to me. Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha!!!

image

Another update around 3 PM. I’ll let the following pictures tell the story.

image

imageimageimageimage

I’ll have my keys sometime this week and he has his keys and his wallet back. They got an innertube’s and floated down where one of the guys last saw it yesterday. It literally was floating in the same spot and had hardly moved. Thank you thank you thank you!

Responses

  1. CONGRADULATIONS!!!! A super victory for you & the planet. May peace prevail even more- you have helped it! Hugs Vera Sent from my iPhone

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

